New wage rates:· In New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and Rhode Island, the minimum wage per hour will be $11.74 per hour in 2016, up from $11.26 per hour last year.
Transportation reimbursement: Your boss must pay for your transportation from your home to the farm and the return trip to your home.
Housing protections: The housing in the labor camp must be inspected for health and safety.
Vehicle safety rules: The transportation provided by your boss must meet standards for safety, vehicle insurance, and drivers must be licensed.
If you have questions about your wage rate, your work contract, or the H-2A rules, call the legal services office that helps in the state where you work.
You should get a copy of your contract before you leave your country. Keep your contract for your records.
Your contract is about 8 pages long. It explains what your pay rate will be and the type of work you will do. It will also explainthe hours of work that are promised, your responsibilities and many other things.
The law requires your contract to provide you with free housing, workers’ compensation insurance and other benefits.
The contract will also tell you who you are working for and where your labor camp is located.
You are only authorized to work for the farm listed on your visa and contract.
If you have questions about your contract, please contact us.