Self Help Tools
Displaying 1 - 10 of 12
Farmworkers, Work, & School
Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about COVID-19, workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.
What is the minimum wage for farmworkers? The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers.
The law requires employers to provide a safe and healthy working environment. It is against the law for employers to retaliate against you for raising concerns about safety and health conditions. This includes concerns about COVID-19.
Are you a farmworker in Maine in need of medical care or a medical consultation? Maine Mobile Health can deliver care for regular medical issues, as well as advise you on COVID-19-related illness.
Are you a veteran considering applying for a Maine Professional license? Your military training may help! The Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will consider military training when reviewing applications. This means you may not have to complete certain required training programs.
If You or Your Spouse Have Been in the Armed Services You May Get Special Benefits When Applying for a State Job Maine gives benefits to some former members of the armed services and their spouses. You can get these if you are a veteran, or if your spouse was a veteran and has passed away.
Maine Law Maine law protects you when you are in the National Guard or the Reserves of the United States Armed Forces and receive orders. When these orders require you to take leave from your job you are provided certain rights. These rights include:
Maine law gives certain protections if you are in the National Guard or the U.S. Armed Forces Reserve. These rules apply when you are called to active duty for more than 30 days. If you have a: